What I have learned….

Wow, what a semester this has been, traveling together with you, my fellow LIBR 200 classmates! At the end of my second blog post I  wrote, “perhaps, what I share [on this blog] with you will help in your success as an online graduate student and connect you to the issues which our community encounters, thus bring us into a greater sense of community with our peers both within and outside our MILS program at SJSU iSchool” (Meszaros,  2014).  I truly hope that this blog has helped you learn more about us as a community of online graduate students.  I look forward to reading everyone’s reflections on what they learned from our information communities study.

Two of the major things that I am taking away from this semester are:

1.  That information communities are important to the fabric of society. Unless, one lives as a hermit in the desert, we are all apart of at least an information community where we share information. We cannot escape it. Together we are working together to either build our society up or tear it down with our information communities.

2. As information professionals-in-training listening to our information communities needs, leads to understanding, and that is the only way that we can serve them to the full extent.  That is what was taught to us by Elfreda Annmary Chatman.  Although, Chatman studied everyday life information seeking (ELIS), I believe her example of actually siting down with community members and getting to know them can service us well both in ELIS and tradition LIS settings (Fulton, 2010).

Through the interviews with our community members LIBR 200 has given us a chance to practice this from the beginning of our professional careers.

As I continue my journey away from being a library technician towards becoming a professional librarian I will take away from this class a theoretical foundation of LIS, a stronger sense of ethics, and introductory knowledge to issues facing the LIS field such as cultural awareness and emerging technologies. As I venture forward farther into my MILS I look forward to learning about many of these issue in-depth. I hope to meet many of you down the road in other courses and that we will continue to build our community.

 

References

Meszaros, A. (2014, September 2). Introducing my information community: online graduate students. Retrieved from http://ischoolblogs.sjsu.edu/students/andreameszaros/introducing-my-information-community-online-graduate-students/

Fulton, C. (2010). An ordinary life in the round: Elfreda Annmary Chatman. Libraries & the Cultural Record, 45(2), 238-259. Retrieved from  http://libaccess.sjlibrary.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=llf&AN=69935466&site=ehost-live

This entry was posted in LIBR 200 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I have learned….

  1. I have enjoyed reading your blog posts, Andrea! You’ve offered valuable insight to distance learners—by the way, so cool that we chose nearly identical communities to study. 😉 You made a great point: We all share information—hopefully to build up (not tear down) society. Knowledge, information, and application of new-found knowledge and information—as aspiring information professionals, we practice the continuation of the information cycle. Hopefully our knowledge trickles down and is expanded upon by the up-and-coming generations. Even better, I hope we can provide ideas for improvement in the distance learning sector. 🙂

    Have a fabulous break between semesters, Andrea, and please keep in touch! I hope to work with you again soon! 🙂

    Like

  2. Jenny Clark says:

    Andrea,

    Great posts this semester, I have enjoyed reading them! The knowledge I have gained this semester has been invaluable. I agree that by researching other people’s needs, I have been forced to look at the way I learn and seek information. Emerging Technologies have piqued my interests as well!

    Good luck with the rest of the semester!
    ~Jenny

    Like

Leave a Reply

