Change

While doing the foundational readings for this course I took some time to reflect upon how I use or don’t use social media in my life. How is it over time have I come to embrace Facebook, so that it is second nature for me to be constantly checking my email and looking at the pictures of my friends’ cute children? Yet, while I use Twitter from time to time it is not my constant companion or go to place when I have time to kill? Many times over the years I have said ‘yes! Now is the time for me to blog [or microblog] every day or every week yet over the next few months, days, or minutes the good intentions fad to non-existence. Perhaps it comes down to the socialness of the social media, Facebook is where my friends are at, while Twitter is not, so it does not have the same draw. It takes time and effort to do a blog well and if no one is reading [or commenting] why write?

Now what does my personal social media habits have to do with library 2.0 and this course? It has to with change and how difficult change is to make. As a child in the 80s and early 90s social media did not exist, so unlike today’s teens I didn’t grow up with the Internet being second nature. Much like the automatic library being new to Buckland’s (1992) audience. My personal experiences in many ways is a microcosm of libraries experimenting with new ways of doing things. In our textbook Casey and Savastinuk (2007) write about the idea of “Plan, Implement, and Forget.” This is like trying out a new social media network with good intentions, but not integrating it into our lives. To make a change stick in whatever place we find ourselves, whether it is at work or in our personal lives there must be something more than good intentions which motivate us to stick with the new program. Casey and Savastinuk (2007) suggest that this is done by creating a culture of change and through creating accountability through teams. Much like my friends asking me if I saw their Facebook post or message.

As future librarians we need to continue to experiment with new ideas to create the library that our uses want as and not feel guilty when something didn’t work the way we had hoped as suggested in the reading by Matthews (2012), yet at the same time when we find something that works we need to make sure that there is built in accountability to make sure we keep the change until it is time for something new.

 

Buckland, M. (1992). Redesigning library services: A manifesto. Retrieved from http://digitalassets.lib.berkeley.edu/sunsite/Redesigning%20Library%20Services_%20A%20Manifesto%20%28HTML%29.pdf

Casey, M. E., & Savastinuk, L. C. (2007). Library 2.0: A guide to participatory library service [electronic book]. Medford, NJ.: Information Today.

Mathews, B. (2012, April). Think like a startup. Retrieved from http://vtechworks.lib.vt.edu/bitstream/handle/10919/18649/Think%20like%20a%20STARTUP.pdf

 

This entry was posted in Discussion Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Change

  1. Susan Bliss says:

    Hi Andrea,
    I can relate to what you write about the difficulty of trying to establish new habits. I have had the idea of blogging regularly, but it has always been kind of vague, and is in the back of my mind. Being accountable is a good motivator, but I think it would also help to have some kind of specific focus to write about. The blank page is less intimidating with some kind of prompt to get one started.

    Like

    • Andrea Meszaros says:

      @susan – in the past I’ve had various themes on what to blog about, inculding my work here in Hungary, and showing off my handcrafts. Still I haven’t ever kept up with it for more than a few months. It like all the people who take out gym memberships in January with high hopes, but stop going in February.

      Like

  2. Jackson Hadley says:

    I can’t tell you how much I agree with your statement that we need to “not feel guilty when something didn’t work the way we had hoped.” I think that we often think that we are playing for keeps with anything we do in libraries because of budget pressures or the fact that we are a public service organization. However, those two factors should give us more reason to experiment to assure that we land on things that the public wants.

    Like

  3. @ameszaros Over the past few months I have migrated more and more to FB for most of my “screen time” activities. Instagram follows closely behind. Twitter when something big is happening or I am conference tweeting. It’s interesting to note the ebbs and flows of use and the aha moment of “Oh, I forgot I had an account on ____.”

    Like

  4. Jenny Clark says:

    Hi Andrea,

    I feel the same way about Twitter – sometimes it is like talking to an empty room! But, when I have a popular tweet it feels extra special. I feel like my Twitter is my public/library persona and my Facebook is for personal use only. I connect to friends and family on Facebook. Twitter is for colleagues and some library people that I have never met. I your attitude that we (as librarians) need to just try everything and see what sticks!

    Like

  5. Kristen Amaral says:

    Okay, you have convinced me to “think” about getting an FB page. What I do not like the most about FB is all the privacy you give up doing it. I do not mind the idea of social media or experimenting, but the invasiveness of it all scares me! How about you all?

    Like

  6. Andrea Meszaros says:

    @krislib I understand your concerns about privacy. As I’m sure you know that you can use the privacy settings to what is private or what is public, but at the same time it still doesn’t stop Facebook or it algorithms from knowing your personal information. This concerns me too! I don’t care so much if a computer knows my personal information, but I do care if the wrong person knows my personal information. Obviously, I don’t care enough or am too naive, since it doesn’t stop me from having a Facebook account.

    Like

  7. Kristen Amaral says:

    The later part is what concerns me. I had an FB for all of 1 day. I deleted it when it sent me all this info from other sources. I most care about the wrong people knowing my info. also! Maybe someday security will get better. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

