A Year of Reading the World

Last week I stumbled across this TEDtalk by Ann Morgan about her 2012 journey of reading the world. In her “Year of Reading the World” Morgan read one book from every country in the world as a way to broaden her horizons. This put me to thinking, how many books have a recently read by authors of different nationalities? This is the list I arrived at:

The Bible

The Element by Ken Robinson (United Kindom)

Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv (United States)

Things Fall Appart by Chinua Achebe (Nigeria)

Soon after I picked up The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson (Sweden)

And I am Malala (Pakistan) is sitting on my bookshelf waiting to be read for a Facebook book club my friend and I am doing together.

While this is not a long list I am hoping to expand it in the near future, as I take the time to seek out books written by authors through out the world.

I have to agree with Morgan that reading literature from other countries really does help  us understand different cultures, yet at the same time they reveal the humanity that everyone possesses. Living cross-culturally I’ve learned that culture is not easy to understand, nor can reading one book bring us complete understanding of another, at the same time it is important for us to learn to look at the world from another persons perspective, even if it is for a short time.

 

 

This entry was posted in Fun, Personal Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Year of Reading the World

  1. Pingback: The Strange Library | Andrea's Library Thoughts

Leave a Reply

